I went to a party,

had way too much to drink,

what was I doing?

Oh right I didn’t think.

~~~

I was on a mission,

I assumed the position,

got all juiced up,

I was liking the cup.

~~~

I wanted to drown my sorrow,

my body they did borrow,

what I wanted was to vanish,

mind numbing thoughts to banish.

~~~

I found not what I sought,

those drinks I should not have bought,

for me they brought more shame,

turned out not to be a game.

~~~

It ended with another drink,

then my face inside a sink,

my soul now was hurting,

from what started with some flirting.

~~~

I went to a party,

had way too much to drink,

what was I doing?

Oh right I didn’t think.

By: Beverly Beekmans

I will not go into the events that this poem came from, suffice it to say the party did not end well. As teenagers we believe ourselves invincible, we are not.


