The other day I came across someones poetry blog and it made me laugh quite heartily. Basically she was saying how she did not enjoy hearing or reading poetry that is overly analytical and confusing.

She quoted “Fuzzy Wuzzy” (for those not familiar with it, it goes..Fuzzy wuzzy was a bear, fuzzy wuzzy had no hair, fuzzy wuzzy wasn’t fuzzy was he) and said how it was simplistic and told a story. I had to agree with her and I find that when I write poetry I try and keep it fairly simple. I want people to understand, I want them to relate to what I am saying and sometimes it’s pretty tough to figure out what poems are even about.

I meet so many people who have no interest in poetry whatsoever, and I think most of the reason is simply that they can’t understand it, or it’s too drawn out to hold their attention.

